Back Again

Brendan King went five scoreless innings in Falmouth's game three win.
Brendan King went five scoreless innings in Falmouth’s game three win.

Well this looks familiar.

For the second time in three years, Yarmouth-Dennis and Falmouth will meet in the Cape League championship series, after the latter punched its ticket with a game three win over Bourne Wednesday night.

The Commodores, with the best record in the league, were down 1-0 in their series with the Braves, but stayed alive with a 5-4 win in game two and moved on with a 6-2 victory Wednesday.

Brendan King (Holy Cross) went five scoreless innings, allowing three hits and striking out five. Holy Cross teammate and Cape newcomer George Capen followed with two scoreless frames and Brett Gilchrist (Dallas Baptist) fanned two in a perfect eighth. Bourne – no stranger to late playoff rallies – touched up Seth Elledge (Dallas Baptist) for two runs in the ninth on a Jeremy Eierman (Missouri State) home run but that was all the Braves would get.

J.J. Matijevic (Arizona) went 2-for-4 with two RBI and his second home run of the postseason to lead the Falmouth offense. Deacon Liput (Florida) and Michael Cantu (Texas) added two hits each and Joshua Watson (TCU) and Tristan Gray (Rice) knocked in one run apiece.


What to Watch

The Cape League championship series begins tonight in Falmouth at 6 p.m.

Y-D is making its fifth finals appearance in the last seven years and is looking for its third consecutive league championship. Falmouth is in the finals for the third time in six years, having come up empty in the last two. The Commodores have not won the Cape League title since 1980.

The teams split their four-game regular-season series, with Falmouth winning 8-5 in the most recent meeting July 27.

Y-D swept Falmouth in the 2014 Cape League championship series. Future first-round pick Walker Buehler went eight shutout innings in a 5-0 win in the opener. The Red Sox then used a six-run sixth inning on their way to a 10-4 win in game two, with another future first-rounder, Phil Bickford, closing out the win in dominant fashion.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *